Goodbyes are Hard

What a session it’s been and what an awards breakfast this morning! We handed out rifle awards to the Sharpshooter in each age division for high scores. Walker Dulaney won juniors, Alonso Vera won intermediates, and Leo Daly won seniors. The tennis tournament winners were Hugh Wagoner for 11 and under, and Sam Thompson for 12 and up.

We also give out bigger awards at the end of each session, including the Deerhorn Spirit Awards, and the Most Outstanding Camper Awards. For Spirit awards, the junior was awarded to Charlie Brandt, the intermediate to Des Mangat, and the senior to Charlie Halpin. The Outstanding trophies went to Bennett Blaustein for juniors, Navin Linson for intermediates, and Nate Affolter for seniors.

We also gave out the most prestigious award given to a camper, the Robinson Knife Award. It is given each summer to the senior boy who has given the most in service and loyalty to Camp Deerhorn. This year’s recipient was the very-deserving JP Koehl. Videos of all the speeches can be found on our Facebook page. The Apache have taken a commanding lead of the summer after C session. For team comp totals, check out our website.

C Sessions goodbyes are always the hardest. We have 37 fifteen year-olds for most of whom this is their last year as campers. There are many tears shed as friends say goodbye. It’s a pretty powerful thing, to watch boys, especially teenagers, openly expressing the powerful emotions they are feeling. You want proof of how deep these friendships run? Watch the goodbyes at the end of C session. It’s amazing.

We have 18 kids staying over for D session, and they spent the afternoon ziplining in Minocqua, at the Northwoods Zip Line. They were so excited to go. They had pizza for dinner and will cap off their day watching the Min-Aqua Bats water ski show. We are sad to see all of ourĀ  C session campers go, but we are excited to greet the 120 kids who are showing up tomorrow! Bring on D session!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *